Batch ’72 City Central School

I don’t know how my igso Maria Steffens (Brenda Tamara during our elementary days at the City Central School in Cebu City) found this blog. But I am glad she likes my meandering thoughts here.

Maria is in Norway, but many of my batch mates are still in Cebu. A few of us have been meeting and planning for a reunion in December. I hope that happens.

I am a product of the public school system, at least in my elementary days, and proudly so. The little success I have now proves that being in that system is not a deterrence. If you have the intellect and the determination, you can be better than those studying in private schools, notably the elite ones.

I pass by City Central School daily going to the office. While familiarity tends to make one overlook many things, there are times when I get nostalgic just looking at the rooms in the former main building at the corner of P. del Rosario St. and Jones Ave.

The best years of my life I divide into three periods: elementary, high school and revolutionary periods. While much of my memories of the first period have been lost, I always look back to my days in City Central with certain sense of fondness.

The daily 30-minute walk or so from our place in Sitio Kawayan, Barangay Sambag 2, the frolic inside the school campus, the nutri-buns we called pan de o.k. (pan de ok-ok or in English, bread containing cockroach), etc.

I will be writing more about that in the next few days.

–Candido O. Wenceslao, June 30, 2007

3 Responses to Batch ’72 City Central School

  1. Rowena says:

    I see…I know Maria here in Norway🙂 what a small world…

  2. Maria says:

    yes! A small world! Rowena and I are both loving here in Oslo and even if we lost touch sometimes we still meet in parties and social functions…

    Day Weng… sos gamaya ra gyod sa kalibutan no? Dia pa gyod ka comment diri sa akong igso and former classmate both sa elementary unya kadiyot sa Science High!

    Mo comment unya ka adtong imong article sa bisaya Dong… pero unya na kay bisi pa kaayo..

    But keep up the good work and I am always praying for you!

  3. Maria says:

    “living” uy … dili loving! Sorry dili man god do kamao mo-type!

Leave a Reply

