SWU and Rowena

Somebody just strayed into this blog and commented on some articles here. I am referring to Rowena (I don’t know the family name, probably foreign sounding now), who said she is now based in Scandinavia (layoa nag lagpot, uy). What caught my interest was her mentioning Southwestern University (SWU).

She said she remembered me from our SWU days, and that I was quite popular. Now, that’s tricky.

After I dropped out of the Cebu City National Science High School in Labangon, Cebu City, I transferred to SWU High which was a walking distance from our house in Barangay Sambag 2, Cebu City. That was the first part. The second part was that when I graduated in high school, I proceeded to take up a Chemical Engineering Course, also in Southwe.

I admit I was probably popular in high school simply because I was in the honor roll there and eventually graduated valedictorian. Now, when you grab honors in any campus, you become popular, although that didn’t get into my head. Instead, I felt inferior considering that my parents were only barely able to pay for my tuition while I was surrounded by students from well-off families, including the Aznars, owners of the school.

In college, I was not that popular, academics-wise. I had problems with my Engineering subjects because I was into activism already. That was in the waning days of the Marcos dictatorship. I eventually shifted to an easier course, political science. But I was with the campus publication “The Quill” and led some of the struggles for reforms inside the school. That’s where I got some of the popularity, or notoriety if you will.

I would eventually drop off from school, though, and spend some seven years in the mountains, fighting for a cause, until I was arrested twice. But then again, my SWU days were among the best in my life.

–Candido O. Wenceslao, June 5, 2007

5 Responses to SWU and Rowena

  1. Rowena says:

    Well..did I say you are popular? 🙂 I do remember your name at SWU campus (from the Quill)….yes as you said you were involve in activism. I do have high regards to you and to the others as well who are not afraid to air their opinions – keep it up.

    Mao ni, layo gyong lagpot nako diri…

  2. Rowena says:

    By the way…do you know the whereabouts of James? I forgot his family name but I know you both were involve in activism during those tricky times under Marcos regime…

  3. Nick says:

    Hi Bong! Is it Bong or Candido?

    Anyway, I chanced upon your column at Sunstar Cebu, regarding Tomas Osmeña, I’ve been writing about the situation in my own blog since around 3 days ago.

    I’m glad you wrote such a candid peace about the Mayor… Hope you can keep us posted on that situation and share some info that’s not being written in mainstream media.

    As I wrote on my own piece, the people should not be begging, they should assert that the money that Tomas is lauding in front of them belongs to the public, and it is his responsibility to provide that to the citizens of Lahug.

  4. Maria says:

    Hi Bong!

    At last I’ve found this page!

    I ‘ve not read much yet but I will definitely do that when I have time. I am so happy for you and I truly admire your courage and the clarity of your articles.

    Keep up the good work. And I am proud for having known you personally since we were elementary.

  5. cebuano says:

    Maria, nasaag na gyod ka dinhi? Thanks for posting your comment. And enjoy reading.

Leave a Reply

