Libel Case Against Broadcaster

Cebu Gov. Gwendolyn Garcia has finally went to court against a popular Cebu broadcaster who has been attacking her in his radio program and columns. The governor charged ABS-CBN’s Leo Lastimosa before the Cebu City Prosecutor last April 16, saying that the broadcaster has “consistently manifested contempt and ill will on my person and family in the recent past.”

I don’t want to dwell deeply into the case, although I have read some of Lastimosa’s columns and heard his commentaries on air. Interestingly enough, Lastimosa is also among the top officials of the Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster ng Pilipinas, which supposedly regulates its member stations and networks, or practically the whole broadcast medium in the country.

I won’t say Lastimosa’s attacks against the governor are libelous because that will be up to the prosecutors and, if the case goes to the court, for the judge to decide. What I can just say is that either Lastimosa really believed in what he said about the governor or this is but a product of the strained relationship between him and Capitol, something that started when the Cebu International Convention Center was still being constructed.

I just hope that they will eventually settle their differences and for both of them to learn the lessons from this sorry episode. I know each of them believe they are right but as an observer, I say both have their failings, too.

Lastly, I would like to hear and read the Leo Lastimosa of old, that one I admired when he was still my news director in radio dyLA.

-Candido O. Wenceslao, April 18, 2007

Leave a Reply

