Killing of Ka Nognog

I do not know Sotero Llamas, after all he was from Luzon. But having gone underground in the late ’70s and ’80s, I find it rather unfortunate that he would be shot in cold blood, presumably by armed men identified with the government. Llamas, or Ka Nognog, was killed in Albay last May 29.

Llamas was among the top communist leaders who chose to go above-ground after their arrest. He was captured in 1995, became consultant of the peace talks, helped form the party list group Bayan Muna then run for governor under a faction of the Laban ng Demokratikong Pilipino but lost.

That he would die above-ground is the tragedy there. He is one of the almost a hundred militant leaders killed since Gloria Arroyo assumed the presidency in 2001. What this means is that the democratic space widened by the 1986 Edsa people power uprising is fast closing and that the country is well on its way again to fascist rule—albeit a hidden one.

The political killings are worrisome because these are being paralleled by the shooting to death of journalists and, in Cebu, the vigilante-style killings of suspected criminals. Sen. Aquilino Pimentel said it well: the danger is when summary executions become rampant and, worse, becomes part of state policy.

The regime of then dictator Ferdinand Marcos was described as the Years of Living Dangerously. It looks like we are moving in that direction, not only with the killings but also with the recent warrantless arrests. I just hope the situation won’t worsen, though.

–May 30, 2006

21 Responses to Killing of Ka Nognog

  1. This is very nice and informative post. I have bookmarked your site in order to find out your post in the future.

  2. Arden says:

    Impressive, I wonderr how I never have thought
    about this by myself! Keeep on writing these exciting articles!

  3. It’s actually a nice and useful piece of information. I’m satisfied that you just shared this useful information with us.
    Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  4. None of these major US competitors offers free, legal video content worldwide
    in streaming and downloadable forms through their sites and via bit-torrent peer-to-peer indexing sites.
    So, what’s stopping via enjoying a motion picture this way.
    Join HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS of satisfied members who became tired of waiting for DVDs in the mail, and Now you can Watch Free Mr.
    It’s and a great way to getting past internet censorship, as is available the same freedoms that the American could have online.

  5. Pop says:

    You actually make it appear so easy together
    with your presentation however I find this topic to
    be really something that I feel I would by no means understand.

    It kind of feels too complex and very wide for me. I am looking forward
    to your next submit, I’ll try to get the grasp of it!

  6. distributor peralatan olahraga says:

    The BOB Sport Utility jotging stroller has a variety of features
    that will make life easier for any parent and for any child.

    Commercial advertising sport photography requires a lot of shooting tome and effort in editing pictures that lack
    emotion. While this color combination iis mostly muted,
    the metallic silver elephant print gives this pair a flossy appeal.

  7. best microcassette recorder

    Killing of Ka Nognog | Rebelmind

  8. Magnificent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how can i subscribe for
    a blog website? The account aided me a acceptable deal.
    I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright
    clear concept

  9. Do you have any video of that? I’d like to find out some additional information.

  10. I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put
    in penning this website. I am hoping to see
    the same high-grade content by you later on as well.In truth,
    your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my very own website now😉

  11. ask says:

    This website was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something that
    helped me. Thanks a lot!

  12. Tamika says:

    Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to death at work so
    I decided to check out your site on my iphone during
    lunch break. I enjoy the info you present here and can’t wait to take
    a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow,
    awesome blog!

  13. example says:

    Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I
    stumbleupon on a daily basis. It’s always helpful to read through
    content from other writers and use a little something from
    their web sites.

  14. Undeniably consider thawt that you stated. Your favorite reason seemed to be at the net the easiest factokr tto be aware of.

    I say to you, I certainly get irked whilst other people consider issues that they
    just don’t know about. You controlled to hit the nail
    upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , folks could take a signal.
    Will probably be again to get more. Thanks

  15. Penny says:

    Hi there colleagues, how is all, and what you wish for to say concerning
    this piece of writing, in my view its truly awesome designed for me.

  16. Google’s Project Loon aims to launch higher-altitude balloons to give broadband service to remote places beneath.

  17. asdf says:

    It’s an amazing piece of writing in support of
    all the online people; they will obtain advantage from it I am sure.

  18. I delight in, lead to I found just what I was having a look for.
    You have ended my four day lengthy hunt!
    God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  19. film izle says:

    What’s up colleagues, its great post regarding cultureand entirely explained, keep it up all the time.

Leave a Reply

